Stop signs are put in place to keep drivers and pedestrians safe. They help prevent accidents at intersections and should always be respected.
Unfortunately, even the safest drivers are often distracted or in a hurry and don’t always come to a complete stop when approaching a stop sign.
Though it may seem like a harmless offense to “roll” through a stop sign instead of coming to a complete stop, this is a moving violation that can have expensive and serious consequences.
In the event you get cited for a rolling stop, it’s important you know the law, the penalties, and how you can defend yourself in court.
“Rolling Stops” Defined
Under New York state law, a “rolling stop” is simply any moving violation where a driver fails to completely stop their vehicle at a stop sign. In other words, this means your vehicle cannot simply slow down and “roll” before proceeding through an intersection.
Rolling stop laws are designed to keep roads safer. They encourage drivers to fully engage with their surroundings, look for any oncoming hazards, and proceed with caution.
Should you fail to follow the law and run a stop sign, you risk fines and penalties and even put your driving privilege in jeopardy.
Penalties for Rolling Stops in New York
The following are some of the penalties that can result if you’re pulled over for rolling through a stop sign in New York state.
Motorists can expect to be fined upwards of $150 for their first rolling stop offense.
A second citation within 18 months will land you a $300 fine, and a third within that same time period has a penalty of $450!
Points on Your License
On top of financial penalties, rolling stop violations carry a 3-point penalty on your license.
If you have multiple convictions within 18 months, each one adds three more points to your record.
Having too many points on your license is risky and can result in stacked fees and an eventual suspension of your driving privileges.
In New York state, certain traffic violations also carry a surcharge. What this means is you pay an extra fee for incurring the fine in the first place. Think of it as a “tax” on your citation, and expect to pay around $88 on top of any base fine.
Driver Responsibility Assessment
If you accumulate six or more points on your license within 18 months, you’ll have to pay a driver responsibility assessment fee. This fee is secondary to any fines you already have and will cost you $300. You’ll also pay an extra $75 for each point you earn after the sixth one.
How can you fight a rolling stop citation?
A few methods exist to defend yourself against rolling stop violations in New York courts.
You can use these defenses if you want to prove your innocence and avoid the penalties that come with admitting guilt:
- The stop sign is obstructed and difficult to see
- Faded or hard to distinguish lines at the intersection
- Dashcam footage of you coming to a complete stop
As a driver, you must know the law, drive safely, and avoid moving violations. But every situation has its story, and it’s not uncommon to prevail in court should you have a genuine reason for having rolled through a stop sign.
Cited for a rolling stop violation?
New York Traffic Ticket Lawyers fight to stop sign violations throughout central New York, including Albany County, Erie County, Onondaga County, Orange County, Saratoga County, and Warren County. To speak with a knowledgeable attorney, reach out to our team today.