Every year, drivers receive tickets for failure to stop at a stop sign. In New York, drivers must stop at a specific location, as indicated by the stop sign. They must obey and yield to other vehicles who have the right of way at the stop sign. When convicted, drivers face fines, increased insurance premiums, and driver’s license points. It’s best to avoid receiving a stop sign ticket.
Charged With Failure to Stop at a Stop Sign? We Can Help
If you’ve been ticketed for failure to stop at a stop sign, and you are, you may be tempted to pay the ticket and move on. Paying the ticket is an admission of guilt and could result in serious consequences. Discussing your case with an attorney can help you obtain the best outcome possible. Contact The New York Traffic Ticket Lawyers today to schedule a free initial consultation and learn more about our legal services.
Failure to Stop at Stop Sign (1172a)
According to New York Vehicle and Traffic Law Section 1172a, every driver in New York must stop at a stop sign unless a law enforcement officer has directed him or her to proceed. There are no exceptions to this general rule. If such a line exists, drivers must stop their vehicles completely at a clearly marked stop line.
If there isn’t a clearly marked stop line, drivers must stop their vehicles before entering the crosswalk on the side of the intersection closest to them. When there is no stop sign, drivers must stop at the point nearest to the intersection where they can see oncoming traffic before they proceed to enter the intersection.
Coming to a Complete Stop
Drivers can be ticketed for failure to come to a complete stop at a stop sign. Many drivers use what’s commonly called a California roll at stop signs in which they slow down but don’t fully stop before proceeding into the intersection. Rolling through a stop sign can result in a ticket, just as complete failure to slow down or stop can result in a ticket.
Right of Way Rules At a Stop Sign
Drivers can also be ticketed for failure to follow New York’s right-of-way laws. After stopping at the stop sign, drivers must ensure that opposing traffic isn’t in the intersection or approaching it before entering it themselves. Drivers must take their turn when entering the intersection and wait for the appropriate time.
Penalties for Failure to Stop at a Stop Sign in New York
Running a stop sign may not seem like a big deal, especially if nobody was injured, but the penalties can be significant. If this ticket is your first offense, you will be fined $150 and have to pay a surcharge between $88 and $93. In some extreme cases, you could be required to serve a jail sentence of 15 days. Running a stop sign for a second time within 18 months can result in 45 days in jail, and the fine will double. Three convictions in 18 months will result in a fine of $450, and you could be jailed for up to 90 days.
Passing through a stop sign without stopping is a moving violation, which is the more serious type of traffic ticket. As a result, you could have three points placed on your driver’s license. Drivers who have 11 or more points placed on their driver’s license within 18 months can have their driver’s license revoked. You will also face higher premiums for your auto insurance.
The increase in your insurance premiums could last for at least three years and remain in effect for five years if warranted by your driving record. Some premiums can increase by up to 20 percent or higher. Your driving record will also be affected. If you’re applying for a job that requires a perfect driving history, you may be unable to be hired.
Defenses Against Stop Sign Tickets in New York
Determining the best legal defense to fight your stop sign violation ticket depends on the facts of your case. For example, suppose you could not see the stop sign because a tree, bush, or another object was obstructing it. You may be able to use this as a defense. Similarly, if the line was not visible or faded, you may be able to use this defense effectively. If photographic or video evidence shows that you came to a complete stop, you can use that evidence to support your defense in court.
If you are an out-of-state driver, you may believe you can ignore New York stop signs without facing penalties. However, any driver driving within New York’s borders must obey New York traffic laws. Even if you pay the ticket and return to your home state, you will still have to deal with the points, insurance increases, and fines associated with a conviction. New York shares convictions with other states, so it’s best that you reach out to an attorney.
Why Hire an Attorney
The New York Traffic Ticket Lawyers focus our legal practice on defending clients against New York traffic tickets. Our attorneys have extensive experience representing clients in court. We know what types of defenses work effectively and will investigate your case to determine the best legal defense for you. Our attorneys have been very successful at getting stop sign tickets dismissed. In other cases, we can successfully negotiate a reduction of the stop sign ticket to a parking ticket with no points and smaller fines.
Discuss Your Failure to Stop at a Stop Sign Ticket With an Attorney
At The New York Traffic Ticket Lawyers, we have helped many New York drivers avoid being found guilty of running a stop sign. After reviewing your case, we’ll develop a strategy of the best ways to fight your traffic ticket. Contact The New York Traffic Ticket Lawyers so we can begin working with you on an effective legal defense strategy.
The New York Traffic Ticket Lawyers handle Failure to Stop at Stop Sign tickets throughout Central New York including Albany County, Broome County, Cortland County, Cayuga County, Erie County, Jefferson County, Madison County, Oneida County, Onondaga County, Orange County, Oswego County, Saratoga County, and Warren County.